to the Association of Pacific Island Legislatures home page. We are a regional organization committed to working together on matters of mutual concern and interest.    

APIL, formed in 1981, is comprised of legislative representatives from 12 island governments.

  • American Samoa
  • Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas
  • Island of Guam
  • FSM State of Chuuk
  • FSM State of Kosrae
  • FSM State of Pohnpei
  • FSM State of Yap
  • Republic of the Marshall Islands
  • Republic of Palau
  • State of Hawaii
  • Republic of Nauru
  • Republic of Kiribati

  • We meet regularly to consider matters in areas where regional cooperation, coordination, exchange and assistance may help governments achieve their goals through collective action.

    We, as representatives of these Pacific Island peoples, have joined together in an association structured with sufficient capability and permanence to address, in depth, the substantive regional and international issues facing the emerging Pacific governments.

    These issues may include, but are not limited to, those arising in the areas of Resources and Economic Development, Commerce, Legislation, Energy, Regional Security and Defense, Communications, Cultural Appreciation, Health and Social Services, Education, Agriculture, Air and Sea Transportation, Aquaculture, Sports and Recreation, Youth and Senior Citizens, Tourism, Finance, Political Status, External Relations, and Development Banking.